Jump to content


Photo

Trying to IMPORT ZIGZAG


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 COGSx86

COGSx86

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 January 2017 - 08:32 PM

Hey

 

I have the ZigZag.mq4 file and am trying to import this indicator into the EA wizard, when I do, I dont get any of the parameters listed. Im a noob when its comes to this kinda stuff and just started using the trial. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

 

 

Attached Files



#2 tomas262

tomas262

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,894 posts

Posted 06 January 2017 - 08:42 PM

Hello,

 

can you attach the indicator? We can also test whether it can be used in EA Wizard



#3 COGSx86

COGSx86

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 January 2017 - 10:12 PM

attached to the original post



#4 tomas262

tomas262

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,894 posts

Posted 06 January 2017 - 10:26 PM

Hello,

 

you would have to edit the ZigZag code placed into EA WIzard / custom_indi. Look at the screenshot.

 

Update "input" to "extern". EA WIzard will be able to read the inputs

Attached Files

  • Attached File  6.1.jpg   194.74KB   0 downloads


#5 COGSx86

COGSx86

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 06 January 2017 - 11:02 PM

Just to clarify for other custom indicators I have to import, will this same thing have to be done ? As in change "INPUT" to extern ?



#6 COGSx86

COGSx86

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 January 2017 - 12:06 AM

Ok here is another example

 

I have tired to import a custom indicator and I get this in return "unknown return type!"

 

http://prntscr.com/dsfoxv

 

Im not sure what I have to do, I changed the input to extern, 



#7 tomas262

tomas262

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,894 posts

Posted 08 January 2017 - 05:07 PM

Hello,

 

"unknown return type" usually means that the indicator does not return any physical value. It provides only graphical representations like lines or histogram. Some indicator values can be also computed directly in EA Wizard without a need to use custom indicators (like fibonacci level for example)



#8 COGSx86

COGSx86

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 09 January 2017 - 01:33 AM

Hello,
 
"unknown return type" usually means that the indicator does not return any physical value. It provides only graphical representations like lines or histogram. Some indicator values can be also computed directly in EA Wizard without a need to use custom indicators (like fibonacci level for example)


Being kinda new with the program any tutorials, that would be able to show me, how to do this ?

#9 tomas262

tomas262

    Advanced Member

  • Moderators
  • 1,894 posts

Posted 09 January 2017 - 05:56 PM

Hello,

 

I have created an example on how to calculate a fibonacci level and use it for trading. So this way you do not need to use any custom indicator. Of course not all situations can be solved this way

Attached Files






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users